Of Geese and Men

WOW. That’s all I can say. Spent a beautiful day at Shelby Farms enjoying a road bike and then a nice walk. I accidentally went on Earth Day; so there was more than a little traffic.

oops

But, all in all, it was a wonderful surprise.

It also made me think about how I had been spending Saturdays while I was depressed/anxious: locked up inside, sleeping most of the day away, and eating and feeling bad.

Image

Now, I woke up, drove 20+ mins away and exercised. I was able to appreciate my surroundings and discover some great facts at the Earth Day fair.

Image

Now, to the biking. It was SOOOOO fun. I have a pretty low-grade entry level road bike with 14 speed, stem shifters. But, even with the lack of technology it was a blast. The feel of the wind passing by me, my legs cycling in rhythm, the accomplishment of exercise.

It was also HARD. No wonder cyclists are so skinny and fit. I just cycled about 15 minutes, but the continuous cycling (with the toe clips), wore me out. Which is great–because I want the cardiovascular workout. Even more, I was surprised by the strain on my upper body. I’ll really need to ramp up my weight training for that area–and maybe actually focus on just upper body stuff primarily. So that being said, I think I’ll stick with the slower workout plan πŸ™‚

Image

Anyway, back to exploring things I wouldn’t have before. Shelby Farms was BEAUTIFUL. Just epic and peaceful with a really gentle breeze. There were these beautiful geese like creatures grazing the area as well. (Even better, they did not attack me like I’ve experienced in the past!)

image

Plus, it was cute to see all the families and kids playing on the earth day lot.

I also saw a couple of other Phat cyclists; and that made me smile πŸ™‚

Here are some other pics:

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

