(Non)Blazing Saddles

Before I embarrass myself, let me start off with some good news (mostly):  None of my pants fit me.

Now, normally for a Phat* person that would be a  bad thing–and, indeed, for most of my life it has been. But, in this new phase of life, it’s actually pretty great. All my pants are too BIG. Too big for the Big Girl.

Yeah…take a while to let that sink in:

Image

So, yeah, I’m feeling pretty ‘rad’ right now (am I bringing ‘rad’ back?–I’m not sure; but I think I’m trying to bring that back.) The downside is that none of my pants fit me and I’m a quasi-broke graduate student.

Image

Still, a small price to pay for health, in my opinion.

[*I’ll write more about my use of Phat later. But suffice to say that it’s my positive way of looking at my weight loss journey]

Now, on to the less stellar part of this day. (But, just as with pants thing, it’s a double-edged sword). Bad news first this time: I could only cycle for 15 minutes today on my road bike. I know, I know, hold the applause.

Honestly getting used to the toe clips, raging saddle discomfort, and new riding position wears me out, too. But mostly it’s my lack of cardiovascular conditioning. But, here’s the thing. I don’t mind it. I mean, of course, it would be great to just jump on my bike and ride a century. But what would be the fun of being a Phat cyclist and tracking my weight loss testimony if I were already fit?

Confusing, right? I know.

tyraconfused

But it makes sense to me, so bygones.

Anyway, it will be fun to look back on these posts when I actually can ride for a decent amount of time!

2 thoughts on “(Non)Blazing Saddles

  1. You’re saddle pain should be less as you get stronger. There are 3 contact point on a bike – saddle, feet and hands (of course you call that 5). But, the harder you pedal, the more weight you put on your feet and less that goes to the saddle. OF course, shedding some weight never hurts.

    Congrats on taking on a journey to lose weight. I’ve been at for about 7-8 weeks and I’m down 20 lbs. I just have another 35 to go!!

  2. Thanks for the reply 🙂 Yeah, I know that I have to get used to some of the discomfort, so I’m taking it really easy. I only cycle every other day at this point and don’t push myself too hard so I can keep enjoying it (which I am!) But thanks for the information–it was helpful and encouraging. Also, congrats on your weight loss journey! I started weight watchers a couple of months ago and have also lost 20 pounds (with many to go). I wish you the greatest luck in your lifestyle change 🙂

Leave a Reply

