Strike (an awkward) Pose

Once in a blue a moon, everyone has one of those days. You know, the ones where you get a ton of compliments on your appearance? (No? Yeah, well it’s been a while for me, too!)

For whatever reasons yesterday–though, I suspect that it was due in large part to finally finding a pair of jeans that actually still fit me–a lot of people commented on my weight loss. Of course, being the polite, faux-haumble person that I am, I casually brushed off their comments. Yet, in my mind, I was definitely doing this as I walked off:

Image

When you’re a Phat person, you’ve got to seize the moment 😉

So on to actual exercise. Since I’ve gained a shred wealth of knowledge in my few weeks of being physically active, I thought I’d share a couple of things I’ve learned. I’ll entitle this segment, Words of (Limited) Wisdom:

1) Always check the forecast: Even if you live in Memphis and it was beautiful outside yesterday, there’s still a chance that you’ll face near-glacier winds when  you stroll out of your apartment in shorts and a tee shirt.

Image

2) Even if you can only lift about ten pounds in free weights, don’t be discouraged. The important thing is how big the the end of the weights make your efforts appear to be. Exhibit A: The oversized  10 pound weights in my apartment’s gym:

Image

4) Never, I repeat, never match your socks. It’s much cooler to frantically sort together clean sports shocks three seconds before you leave your door:

Exhibit B: My workout socks for today (One of them is actually brand name!)

Image

4) Finally, have FUN. I know fun and exercise can seem to be oxymorons sometimes; but honestly, when you take it slow, you’ll be amazed how invigorating and encouraging it is. In reality, I may be doing this:

Image

But, in my mind, I’m doing this:

Image

(Minus the multicolored doo-rag)

And, at the end of the day, isn’t that all that really matters?

5 thoughts on “Strike (an awkward) Pose

  1. First of all I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question that
    I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts
    before writing. I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes
    tend to be lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or hints? Many thanks!

    • First of all, thank you so much for the compliment of asking me for writing advice. I am a bit humbled/shocked that you would ask me for tips, lol, but am definitely willing to share some. Let me begin by saying that I understand your situation. I’ve always loved writing and have wanted to write several books. Yet, I always get caught up in writing blocks/perfectionism. Part of the reason I started this blog was to get past that. Specifically, I try to force myself to write everyday. Even if I don’t love the final product, I’m growing and learning simply by the practice of writing. So, in short: don’t think; just write!

      That being said, since my blog is centered on exercise, I do try to think about relevant topics/things that made me laugh/frustrated me, etc while working out. Sometimes, I’ll even stop to take pictures of them on my phone. Then I might try to focus my blog entry based on those random things that have interested me. Other than that, however, I honestly just write what’s on my mind.

      Anyway, I hope that was somewhat helpful. I am no expert, however, so I can just share my personal experience.

      Good luck and thanks for reading!

  2. Great post! I agree that people shouldn’t be discouraged by the amount of weight they’re lifting. It’s 10lbs more than most people!

    Also it is definitely so important to have fun! You’re right that exercise CAN be invigorating if you step into it at your own comfortable pace! Next thing you know, what used to be something you dreaded doing will turn into something you can’t live without!

    • Thanks for the reply 🙂 And that’s what I’m hoping for, since as someone out of shape, a lot of exercise can be dreadful for me, lol. Thanks for the encouragement and good luck with your journey as well.

  3. It’s the best time to make a few plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this publish and if
    I could I desire to counsel you some fascinating issues or advice.
    Maybe you can write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I desire to learn more issues about it!

Leave a Reply

