My Heart Will (Probably) Go On…

For a Phat cyclist, cardiovascular exercise can be a foreign experience–like learning a new language, or walking on your hands instead of your feet. So, needless to say, my heart has often been none too pleased to get a decent cardio workout. I envision its reaction as being akin to this:

But, I can’t really blame it, considering that I’ve let it grow lazy and ornery for so long.

Now that I’ve started cycling, however, things have begun to change . Of course, I’m still out of shape; but I actually feel GOOD after workouts. Not only that, but I’ve begun to crave it more and more.  I know it may sound crazy, but I feel great after giving my heart a little workout. It’s invigorating and, in my opinion, better than a cup of coffee.

::waits patiently for coffee lovers to spurn me::

Good, now that you’ve gotten that out of your system, I’ll move on.

So, the other fun thing that happened to me today occurred on my way back upstairs in the elevator. One of my neighbors, seeing me in my low quality cycling gear, mistook me for a Fit Person. (Shocking, I know?) They invited me to some fun run/bike thing they host every Saturday morning. Naturally, my first self-deprecating reaction was to inform them that I was, in fact, not a Fit Person–that there had been some horrible mistake:

But then, after some more awkward rambling, I realized that there was no point in arguing it. As they say: ‘fake it ’til you make it’. In the meantime, I’m enjoying the ride.

Leave a Reply

