“We’ve Come to the ENNND of the Road (Ride)”

(*Actual depiction of me crying to my bike after my first flat on Friday).

(**For those of you wondering if the endless onslaught of racing puns will ever end, I’ll answer with this:

“Why didn’t the bike cross the road? It was two-tired”

So, yeah, NO.)

The shop finally finished my bike the other day and, needless to say, I was thrilled!

I can’t remember the last time I was this excited to get something. And, I would have felt a little embarrassed about my raging, uncontainable euphoria enthusiasm if weren’t for the fact that I was out of my mind with happiness. To give myself some credit, I did calm down long enough to pretend to play hardball with shop. I was adamant that I would not pay for the bike until I test-rode it (I’d already ridden an older version previously). ‘Cause, you know, I’m so knowledgeable about bikes I would really be able to know if something were wrong.

image

So after acting like I had any real bike sense, I took it for a ride, wet myself a little with joy felt satisfied with the final product and took that baby home.

This is where things began to go downhill. But I’ll postpone the bike drama in favor of basking in the glory of my purchase.

First, as promised in my last post, I wanted to take some time to compare the “tiny” differences between my new bike (Trek Lexa SL) and my old bike (won’t embarrass the company by sharing the name).

Here’s a simple chart to sum up the main differences:

But, in case, that’s still not straightforward enough, I’ll explain them in more detail 😉

Frameset

Frame

  • Trek (Yet to be Named): 100 Series Alpaha Aluminum
  • Buffy: Amalgamation of old Pepsi cans and concrete.

Fork

  • Trek: Trek carbon road
  • Buffy: Spork molded out of solid lead

Drivetrain

Shifters

  • Trek: Shimano Tiagra STI, 10 speed
  • Buffy: -15 speed, with stem shifters.

Misc. Components

Saddle

  • Trek: Bontrager Affinity 1 WSD, steel rails
  • Buffy: Wooden seat covered with glass shards

Appearance

This section deserves it’s own mini-paragraph. Any woman who’s ever taken an interest in cycling can bemoan the dreadful–and, indeed, often, insulting–styles of women-specific bikes. I’m talking pink flowers and rainbows and unicorns. Or, perhaps even worse, if the company’s especially lazy, they’ll just take the super-cool looking male version of the bike and then strip it of all color/creativity and make a grey version. It drives me INSANE.

image

For instance, here was the standard version of the bike I got (no offense to those who like these types of bikes):

Observe all the pretty, pretty flowers! Oh, yeah, and the wonderful white seat and handlebars, because, OF COURSE, those are the perfect parts of a bike to be white.

So, needless to say, I was jazzed to move up from Buffy, which basically looked like a pink and white toddler’s bicycle with drop-style handlebars, to my new bike. (The darn handlebar tape is still white though!)

Now on to the not-so-great news: Literally within five blocks of gliding blissfully on my new bike, I got a flat!

It actually took me about ten seconds to register this–I think I was in denial.

Surely, surely, I’m just cycling over a rough patch. Because, god knows this brand new bike I just spent all my money on doesn’t ALREADY have a flat!

image

So, yes, after having ridden my old, crappy bike countless times with no flats or any problems, I only made it about two seconds into my new bike before the tire blew out. This totally makes sense. Totally.

image

Sigh. Anyway, after overcoming my frustrations, I went back to the shop to get it repaired. On the plus side, everyone was super friendly and the mechanic even let me watch over him so I could get a tutorial on fixing a flat (something I should have probably known to do before anyway!)

This is post is already gigantic, so I’ll end here and give you all an update my more successful rides later 🙂

Much love,

Big Girl

Next Up:

More Biking Misadventures

How Fitness Has Changed My Life AKA Beating Tween Boys on the Basketball Court and other Victories

4 thoughts on ““We’ve Come to the ENNND of the Road (Ride)”

  1. Your post made me laugh so much, because it mirrors my cycling experience so closely. I did not want a girly girl bike and ended up going for a professional bike fit to find out which non-WSD bikes would fit me because I was so desperate to have a bike that looks cool and not pink and flowery!!!

    I also know what it’s like to ride a bike that’s made out of the heaviest material known to man – at least you can really feel the difference when riding your new bike! Enjoy it!

    • Lol, thanks for the reply! Yes, luckily I ended up really liking the design of my bike–a rarity in the WSD world! But, it still confounds me as to WHY they make our bikes look like this. Who are the women going in for their marketing tests?

      Also, YES; it’s INSANE how much of a a difference there is between the bikes. Almost makes my empty bank account work it =P

      Anyway, thanks for the comment 🙂 Always glad to find a fellow trekker on the way to fitness.

  2. I had the same problem when I got my bike. The problem lies with, that most bike companies do their best to keep costs down, so they cut corners on things they can, and tyres come at the top of that list.

    The BEST thing you can possibly do; is to invest in a pair of Continental Gatorskins. I’ve had my set for about 2000 miles, and I’ve only had one flat (and it was because I rode over a brick) – The are the bees knees!

Leave a Reply

